Video

Modern Space Horror Stories – Last Transmission of a Lost Cosmonaut

Don’t go searching around YouTube at night. It’s dangerous.

Recently I’ve been watching these top 10 and top 15 lists, and some of them led me to some horror stories in the history of our space programs.  It’s worth noting because even with Grubbian physics, some of these dangers are still a potential risk for spelljammers.  And certainly the legacy of surviving those sorts of risks is something we, as fans of space travellers, should remember.  I’ll be posting a series of these over the next few days, so if you have a weak stomach, you may want to avoid this series.

The Judica-Cordiglia brothers were a pair of Italian amateur radio operators who established an enormous antenna and radio station in the 1960s to monitor space program transmissions.  In 1961 they found themselves receiving a weird transmission from a distressed Russian woman (the accent has been identified as East Russian).  It sounds like someone trying to get the attention of a ground control operative burning up on re-entry to the Earth’s atmosphere.  Debunkers correctly point out that a period of radio silence is an expected part of re-entry, so how is it even possible to have such a transmission?  However, listening closely to the audio and analyzing the monologue, it would appear that something started on fire just before re-entry was attempted, and the transmission cut off just as re-entry would have taken place.  No official space missions were scheduled at that time and the woman has never been identified.  The Russian government has officially denied this, and even when the Soviet Union fell and many formerly classified documents were publicly released, much of the early space program’s significant documents were simply nowhere to be found.

If this recording is genuine, this unsung heroine would be the first human woman in space.

Translation of the audio appears below the video.  I’m not saying whether or not I believe it, but it’s downright creepy to listen to:

five…four…three …two…one…one
two…three…four…five…
come in… come in… come in…
LISTEN…LISTEN! …COME IN!
COME IN… COME IN… TALK TO ME!
TALK TO ME!… I AM HOT!… I AM HOT!
WHAT?… FORTYFIVE?… WHAT?…
FORTYFIVE?… FIFTY?…
YES…YES…YES… BREATHING…
BREATHING… OXYGEN…
OXYGEN… I AM HOT… (THIS)
ISN’T THIS DANGEROUS?… IT’S ALL…
ISN’T THIS DANGEROUS?… IT’S ALL…
YES…YES…YES… HOW IS THIS?
WHAT?… TALK TO ME!… HOW SHOULD I
TRANSMIT? YES…YES…YES…
WHAT? OUR TRANSMISSION BEGINS NOW…
FORTYONE… THIS WAY… OUR
TRANSMISSION BEGINS NOW…
FORTYONE… THIS WAY… OUR
TRANSMISSION BEGINS NOW…
FORTYONE… YES… I FEEL HOT…
I FEEL HOT… IT’S ALL… IT’S HOT…
I FEEL HOT… I FEEL HOT… I FEEL HOT…
… I CAN SEE A FLAME!… WHAT?…
I CAN SEE A FLAME!… I CAN SEE A
FLAME!…
I FEEL HOT… I FEEL HOT… THIRTYTWO…
THIRTYTWO… FORTYONE… FORTYONE

AM I GOING TO CRASH?… YES…YES… I FEEL HOT!…
I FEEL HOT!… I WILL REENTER!… I WILL REENTER…
I AM LISTENING!… I FEEL HOT!…

 

 

One comment on “Modern Space Horror Stories – Last Transmission of a Lost Cosmonaut

Out with it then!

